When To Keep Your Mouth Shut

I got hooked on podcasts over a year ago. There’s almost twenty on my subscription list right now. Even though I sew but don’t do any woodworking, I don’t subscribe to any sewing podcasts but I do subscribe to three podcasts that are largely about woodworking.*

Making It with Jimmy Diresta, Bob Clagett and David Picciuto is one of those podcasts. I ran across some notes to myself from a few months ago about Episode 105, “What if everything goes right?”

Starting at about 28:20, there’s a discussion about being around people who are very negative. Jimmy Diresta’s advice was “If there are people around you who are negative, don’t tell them anything, . . . Certain people in my life, I absolutely shield them from what I’m doing. And that is because I know they’ll always say something negative, impulsively, because of their own personal fear.”

Diresta’s opinion that negative people are acting out of their own personal fear is a far more charitable and optimistic opinion than I’ve had in the past. Given how often people assure me that they know me better than I think they know me, and that they also know me better than I think I know me, and given how often those same people are the ones insisting any new idea or interest of mine is something I really don’t want do or I really shouldn’t be doing, my thought was the negativity was a result of personal offense that I dared to do something the negative person hadn’t already predicted or prescribed for me.

Getting back to the Making It podcast, Episode 105, there’s a lot of discussion in the episode about looking at the world from different perspectives and realizing the way you deal with bad things — such as a painful breakup or losing a job — sometimes helps open the door to better things in your life later. It’s very interesting listening to the three co-hosts explain all the unexpected twists and turns that brought each of them to being popular makers on YouTube and hosting a popular podcast.


 

* The three woodworking podcasts I subscribe to are

Leave a Reply

