Wonderful dynamic monochrome art from Lewis and Rubenstein, cannot figure out how to get pictures on this post. :(

The site is TheQuickeningImage.com. Please go visit it.

The artists are David Dodge Lewis and Ephraim Rubenstein.

I first saw an article about them in Drawing magazine. As I’m writing this post, I just now realize it was in the Summer 2015 issue. That was a year ago and I purposely kept my copy of that issue and still look at it occasionally because the images are that beautiful to me.

The technique is to make a drawing with non-water-soluble materials on high-quality white paper, and then use a paraffin crayon to place a wax resist layer over parts of the image. A black or gray wash is added with either India ink or Char-Kole (or soft compressed charcoal) and water. The wash is splashed and slashed around the image with brushes but won’t bleed through the areas covered by the paraffin.

If you can get a copy of the article, there’s some interesting discussion about how wax resist techniques have not been used very much in drawing.

But . . .

Try as I might, I can’t figure out how to link pictures of the drawings (paintings?) from the website. I even looked through the web page code and can’t figure out how to write a link to the images themselves.

Yes, I could do a screenshot and paste a part of that. But I prefer to link to the artist’s website — or the website of a gallery showing their work — with the artist’s name and the name of the painting.

I couldn’t figure out how to do that with these, so please please please go visit their website.

Leave a Reply

