Santa Maria Pinquito beans from Rancho Gordo

Santa Maria Pinquito is a small to medium-small pink bean from Rancho Gordo. I just cooked them up in plain water with a bay leaf, and even as plainly cooked as that they are great. They stay firm and hold their shape well, with a nice flavor.

I mixed some with some sauteed vegetables, and they were great in that. I plan to order some more next time I order from Rancho Gordo, and I am hoping to try them in thick soups and casseroles. If I use them in soups, I’ll be sure to try adding the pot liquor as well, as that cooked up very tastily.

Leave a Reply

