Notes that are true for ALL meetings (and a new blog recommendation)

When someone says: I’m going to simplify things.
They mean: Be confused. Be very, very confused.

When someone says: I’m going to back up here.
They mean: I’m going to make up some history, now.

When someone says:I’m going to name the elephant in the room.
They mean: My next observation will be startlingly banal.

. . .

When someone says: We need to show leadership.
They mean: I should be in charge.

When someone says: There needs to be a bottom-up process.
They mean: Nobody asked me about this.

. . .

When someone says: I realise I’m what’s standing between you and lunch / dinner / drinks
They mean: I know you won’t like what I’m going to say. Please don’t throw anything.

. . .

When someone says: The perfect is the enemy of the good.
They mean: Ignore everyone else’s ideas and just use mine.

When someone says: Any other comments on this?
They mean: Will everyone please, for the love of all that is holy, STFU?

“ICANN Public Forum Bingo”, Maria Farrell, Crooked Timber, March 27 2014 (last accessed March 29 2014)

The blog is Crooked Timber. As in, “out of the crooked timber of humanity, no straight thing was ever made.” (And that is an epic blog title.)

Please do check it out, I just found out about it from a link from Walter Russell Mead over at The American Interest, and those comments about the ICANN meeting are so true of most meetings I wish I could post them on billboards on every highway in the world.

Leave a Reply

