Some useful links for gardening

Each year I have vague dreams of planting a garden, and each year I get too busy with too many other things to start seedlings in the house, so I buy a few plants at local home and garden supply stores, and try my luck with those.

The results are mixed. Although I have introduced the rest of the family to a few mints & related related relatives they weren’t aware of, but have to grown to like very much. Particularly pineapple sage, chocolate mint, and citrus mint. And although most of our tomatoes didn’t do well this year, a couple years ago I got some zebra stripe tomatoes to grow well and Dad really liked those. (They stay green and tart even when completely ripe, and since Dad likes his regular tomatoes a bit on the tart green side, he really liked the zebra stripes. And yes, I may have gotten the wrong name on those.)

But we keep getting various gardening catalogs, so I wanted to sit down and write a list of interesting garden catalogs we’ve gotten through friends or in the mail.

Before I get to any company names, I’d like to direct readers to the site Dave’s Garden, which among other things has a place for users to rate and leave feedback for gardening companies.

Dave’s Garden also lets you search for gardening companies by zip code. Plugging in Montana zip codes revealed a lot of interesting gardening companies in the state that I was unfamiliar with. So the site is worth visiting just for that.

Garden companies I intend to check out further:

A.M. Leonard’s Gardener’s Edge – Gardening tools. Lots of interesting things here.

Dixondale Farms – Onions and all their relatives. The home page currently has information on how to pick onion varieties based on where you live.

Everlasting Seeds – Heirloom seeds. Can buy individual seed packets, can also buy big kits. I got my sister-in-law their medicinal herb seed kit for this last Christmas.

Gardener’s Supply Company – Tools, not plants. Still, lots and lots of handy stuff.

Jung Seed Company – A seed catalog, lots of varieties, lots of plants, lots to look at and dream about.

Peaceful Valley – Their online URL is ‘groworganic.com’. Holy cow, I wonder how many people would kill to own that domain? Anyway, like the name says, organic vegetables. Lot of heirloom varieties. Flowers, other stuff too.

R.H. Shumway’s – Lot of heirloom fruit and vegetables. Also a lot of herb seeds. Catalog has an old-time feel to it that is fun all by itself. This catalog has a special place in my heart, it was one of the first catalogs I found which listed some of the less-commonly known herbs like pineapple sage. I ran across that in a garden store while living in Portland, Oregon and fell in love with the stuff, then found out most seed catalogs don’t have a lot of herbs and definitely not that herb.

Spray-N-Grow – Spray-on fertilizer. Never tried it before, but looks promising.

Territorial Seed Company – Nice catalog, lots of nice varieties for sale, all different types of plants.

Totally Tomatoes – Just what the name says. Hooray!

2 thoughts on “Some useful links for gardening

  1. Normally I do not learn article on blogs, however I would like to say that this write-up very compelled me to try and do it! Your writing style has been surprised me. Thank you, very nice post.

  2. Pingback: Your Questions About Gardening | gardenerscardiff.co.uk

Leave a Reply

