A neat illustrated catalog: J. Peterman Company

Not sure how we got on their mailing list, but we’ve been getting the J. Peterman Catalog for a while now. It’s a bit pricey for me, and they don’t really carry my size, so I haven’t bought anything from it.

But, oh!, the illustrations! There’s not much for photos of merchandise, it’s illustrations instead. Here’s an example of one the dresses:

Long-Sleeve 1947 Dress from J. Peterman company

Long-Sleeve 1947 Dress from J. Peterman company

Here’s another example from the men’s section:

Lambskin Flight Jacket from J. Peterman Company

Lambskin Flight Jacket from J. Peterman Company

And the descriptions of the items are fun to read too. They really go out of their way to link a mood or feeling or mental image to the items they are selling.

As I said, while their items are not in my size (and not quite in my budget either), I look forward to every catalog we get from them just to see what they have and to admire the craft of their illustrators and writers.

 

One thought on “A neat illustrated catalog: J. Peterman Company

  1. I like the illustrations, but I LOVE the stories! They work hard at making you feel like you really could change your life, transport yourself to another time and place, with just a purchase.

Leave a Reply

