Salsa, first try

Since both Dad & I have to watch the salt intake, & we both like salsa, & a lot of store-bought salsa is pretty heavy on the salt, I decided to give salsa a try. This recipe is of my own making after perusing the ingredients list of a couple different types of store-bought salsas & after checking a couple of cookbooks, one about salsa & one about Tex-Mex cooking.

I’m using canned tomatoes & canned pickled jalapenos, so this recipe isn’t no-salt. But it does come together pretty quickly with ingredients I had around the house and if my calculations are correct it should have about half the salt of the lowest-salt store-bought variety we could find. If I start looking for fresh jalapenos and lower-salt canned tomatoes, I think I can take the salt content even more.

Salsa

2 14-ounce cans diced tomatoes

4 garlic cloves, chopped very fine

1 medium-large or large yellow onion, chopped fine

1 medium or medium large green pepper

1/4 cup pickled jalapenos, chopped very fine

1 tsp ground coriander

1 tsp ground cumin

1/2 tsp dried oregano

1/2 tsp chili powder

Put the contents of both cans of tomatoes, juice & all, in a large saucepan. Heat over medium heat until simmering.

Chop the onion & garlic, add to the tomatoes, stir well. Simmer for at least five minutes, 10 is preferable. (Both garlic & onion have very harsh flavors when raw that mellow quite a bit with cooking and the onions I’m using are just regular yellow onions, so I want to give them time to cook.)

Chop the green pepper & pickled jalapenos, add to the tomato mixture & stir well. Let simmer at least 2-3 minutes so the green peppers soften up a little.

Check to see if you like the thickness. If you want it thicker, simmer it for a while longer. If you want it thinner, add some water in small amounts until it is the desired consistency. At this time, also try a bit to taste, see if you like how spicy it is or if you want to add some more jalapenos.

Add coriander, cumin, oregano & chili powder. Stir well. If you won’t be using it until it’s chilled, you can take it off the heat now and put it in the refrigerator to cool, the flavors will have plenty of time to meld. If you will be using it hot, let it simmer for another 2-3 minutes before serving.

Both Dad & I wound up liking this recipe, so I consider it to be a success. However, I would like to try other salsa recipes so you may see me post some more in coming months.

Leave a Reply

