Skirlie – Definitely not something I would have come up with on my own.

Last night I tried skirlie, which is a traditional Scottish dish. It was not bad, but DEFINITELY not something it would ever have occurred to me to make.

Skirlie is basically onions cooked medium brown in beef tallow (I used bacon grease) with some pinhead oatmeal thrown in at the end. It actually wasn’t too bad, better than I expected, and holy cow is it filling! I can see it being a good accompaniment for beef roast with pan drippings or gravy. That is basically what the cookbook said also, skirlie is an accompaniment dish for meat dishes, it is NOT a main dish all by itself.

You can get recipes for skirlie in most Scottish cookbooks, so I am not going to mess around too much with describing proportions.

Still, I can’t keep from wondering – wow! How desperate do you have to be to say “I’ve only got onions and oatmeal left, I wonder what I can do with that?”

Note – The three keys here to having something even remotely edible are:

  1. Pin-head or steel-cut oatmeal (NOT rolled oats).
  2. Cook the onions until they are caramelized, as that is where most of the taste comes from.
  3. Make sure to have some tasty fat to cook the onions in.

Leave a Reply

